Matt Ford was chosen from a field of five shortlisted nominees as the recipient of the 2020 Engdahl Award.

November 12, 2020

Mechanical Engineering Chief Matt Ford Receives Engdahl Award


Matt Ford, Haskell’s Chief Mechanical Engineer, is the 2020 winner of the company’s Engdahl Award, given annually to a Haskell employee who has provided leadership and made significant contributions to design excellence.

Ford joined Haskell 14 years ago as an assistant project manager in the Steel Shop and then became a design engineer before assuming his current role.

“Matt's dedication has elevated the quality of work in the discipline, added consistency to deliverables, and made resource sharing throughout the company seamless,” his nominators wrote.

Ford was cited for numerous contributions, including:

  • Organizing Haskell’s first-ever enterprise-wide, discipline-specific leadership summit to gain alignment on direction and execution within the mechanical engineering team across multiple geographic locations.
  • Developing a new Utility Matrix for EPC projects that incorporates facility and process- and packaging-related items to help with early recognition and communication of required information.
  • Taking a lead role in integrating the Asia-Pacific Design Center team into Jacksonville-based projects.

He was chosen from a field of five shortlisted nominees that also comprised Ramon Ramirez, Design Manager in the Mexico City office; Bob Streets, a Senior Mechanical Engineer in the Industrial Fee for Service group in Oklahoma City; Chris Flagg, AE Group Operations Principal for the Infrastructure & Transportation Group in Jacksonville, Florida; and Ron Garnett, Corporate Illustrator in Jacksonville.

The Engdahl Award recognizes a Haskell employee who has provided leadership and made significant contributions to design excellence. Nominations are judged on design leadership, creativity and innovation, client service, staff development, contributions to quality processes/outcomes, and the furtherance of integration.

Haskell’s Architectural and Engineering (AE) practice comprises 659 team members, including 216 licensed design professionals who hold a total of 1,128 total licenses. It will produce more than $100 million in revenue in 2020.

Previous Engdahl Award Winners

The Engdahl Award is named for Dave Engdahl, Haskell’s former Chief Architect and AE Practice leader. It was established upon his retirement in 2007 to honor his 28 of years design leadership. Here is a list of past winners:

2008: Peter Skirbst

2009: Ted Moore

2010: Roland Udenze

2011: Jimmy Barber

2012: Antonio Valdivia

2013: Mike Byron

2014: David Schoening

2015: Eric Lycke

2016: Bela Jacobson

2017: Frank Brooks

2018: Tom Reel

2019: Jeff Pearse

Haskell delivers $2± billion annually in Architecture, Engineering, Construction (AEC) and Consulting solutions to assure certainty of outcome for complex capital projects worldwide. Haskell is a global, fully integrated, single-source design-build and EPC firm with over 2,200 highly specialized, in-house design, construction and administrative professionals across industrial and commercial markets. With 20+ office locations around the globe, Haskell is a trusted partner for global and emerging clients.

Related News & Insights

Privacy Policy

Our website uses technology to offer you a personalized experience. We need your consent use cookies in accordance with our privacy policy. By clicking “Accept,” you agree to our use of cookies.